Middle-age Mayhem

pexels-photo-107956As we begin to get older, one would think that we become more secure in who we are, but I am finding that now I am in my mid-forties, I have developed a whole new set of insecurities I never expected.  Changing physically was definitely something I figured would happen. We all begin to get wrinkles, gray hair and have trouble keeping off the extra weight, but what I mean is that now that my kids are grown and out of the house I find myself wondering who I am and what interest me. You see being a mom, I gave every part of myself to my family including much of what made me more than just a mom.

Changing physically was definitely something I figured would happen. We all begin to get wrinkles, gray hair and have trouble keeping off the extra weight, but what I mean is that now that my kids are grown and out of the house I find myself wondering who I am and what interest me. You see being a mom, I gave every part of myself to my family including much of what made me more than just a mom. I couldn’t sit and tell you what I enjoyed doing because everything involved what I did with my family.

When my youngest went off to college, I remember feeling so completely alone. My husband was over the moon excited, ibutIwas devastated. I knew I had to find myself again. Who was I outside of being a wife and mother? This is when I decided to go back to school to finish my degree, and it was the best decision I could have made.  I felt that I had a purpose again. Not just because of the busy work, but I was finally close to attaining my childhood dream of getting my college degree.  A new chapter in my life was beginning and I was excited.

There are still some insecurities I face, much to do with the emotional side of aging, but I think if I give it some time, things will fall into place. For now, I am going to keep working on my dream and nothing is going to get in my way!

Leave a Reply

